WA Rural Health Awards 2020

WACHS and Rural Health West

The WA Rural Health Awards recognise and acknowledge health professionals who have dedicated their careers to caring for rural communities, as well as celebrate the achievements of health professionals who have enhanced the range and quality of health care available in rural locations.

Having access to quality healthcare is extremely important for rural communities and these awards are an opportunity to shine the spotlight on health professionals who have contributed to rural health in Western Australia.

Since 2008, Rural Health West has proudly hosted the annual WA Rural Health Awards (previously WA Country Doctors' Awards) to recognise the outstanding contributions made by health professionals working in rural communities. In 2017, WA Country Health Service formed a partnership with Rural Health West to co-host the awards.

The Awards are an integral part of the WA Rural Health Conference (previously Annual Conference), with the Awards ceremonies bringing together the finalists and winners to celebrate their achievements with family, friends and colleagues.

The 2020 Award winners will be announced at the WA Rural Health Conference taking place at the Pan Pacific Perth on Saturday 21 and 22 March 2020.

Nominations for the 2020 WA Rural Health Awards - Excellence have now closed. Award finalists and their nominators will be notified in January 2020.

WA Rural Health Awards 2020_1200pxW2

Gala Dinner

Saturday 21 March 2020    |    6.30pm-midnight    |    Golden Ballroom, Pan Pacific Perth
Cost    $125 per person (finalists and their guest will receive complimentary tickets  |  Cocktail dress

The WA Rural Health Excellence Awards are a rare chance to shine the spotlight on health professionals in the field of rural health, who have dedicated their time and talents to improving the health and wellbeing of others. The stories of our finalists are truly remarkable,
heart-warming and inspiring. 

Previous recipients have achieved excellence in their profession and demonstrated above and beyond commitment, making rural life healthier and more compassionate.

Join us to celebrate the valuable contribution of health professionals across rural and remote Western Australia.

We would like to thank the following sponsors 

GP of the Year

Sponsored by Western Australian General Practice Education and Training Ltd

wagpet 200

Specialist of the Year (non-GP)

Sponsored by St John of God Bunbury Hospital
SJOG BunburyHosp_Logo RGB_HOR small 180

Metropolitan-based Bush Champion

Sponsored by Royal Flying Doctor Service Western Australia

rfds logo

Rising Star Award

Sponsored by Curtin University


Rural Researcher or Educator Award

Sponsored by Wesfarmers


Building Healthy Country Communities Award

Sponsored by Wesfarmers


People's Choice Award

Sponsored by Wesfarmers 


WA Rural Health Awards 2020_1200pxW

Celebration Lunch

Sunday 22 March 2020    |    1.00pm-3.00pm    |    Golden Ballroom, Pan Pacific Perth
Cost:    $50 per person (complimentary for long-service recipients and their guest    |   Smart casual dress

The Long Service Awards are presented to general practitioners and medical specialists who have served rural and regional Western Australia for over 20 years.  These awards recognise the extensive commitment to providing health services, often to many generations of the same family and their continued involvement in the community.

Awards for 20, 30 and 40 years of service will be presented on the weekend of the WA Rural Health Conference at a special Long Service Awards Lunch on Sunday 22 March 2020.

Tickets for the lunch will be available for purchase soon.