Specialist training for procedural general practitioners.

A Supervised Clinical Attachment (SCA) is a placement in a clinical or hospital setting to observe and engage in hands-on clinical practice. We can coordinate SCAs for proceduralists working in anaesthetics, obstetrics, surgery and emergency medicine.

RuralTrainingPathways_Procedural Mentoring Programs_Anaesthetics309

Rural Health West can coordinate SCAs for Western Australian procedural general practitioners in Perth-based or regional tertiary hospitals free of charge.

Requesting a Supervised Clinical Attachment

To request an SCA, please complete the request form and email to the Procedural Program Coordinator. Alternatively, fax Rural Health West on 08 6389 4501.

A minimum of six weeks notice is required for an SCA placement. Please note the cost of placements can vary from $200 to $350 per day.

The aim of SCAs is for procedural general practitioners to update skills and areas of knowledge. They will have a nominated supervisor who is responsible for providing a written report at the conclusion of your attachment period.

Eligibility for Supervised Clinical Attachments

  • Must be a qualified procedural general practitioner.
  • Must be credentialed at a rural hospital or through the Royal Flying Doctor Service.
  • Requires ongoing upskilling to maintain their skill level for rural practice.

Obstetric Supervised Clinical Attachments

Obstetric SCAs are available at King Edward Memorial Hospital (KEMH), Osborne Park Hospital and, in 2018, Fiona Stanley Hospital.

2018 Obstetric Supervised Clinical Attachments at KEMH are now open

2018 KEMH places are pre allocated by the end of 2017, with applications now open. Please see available 2018 dates below and submit your preferences via the 2018 KEMH Obstetric Request Form to the Procedural Program Coordinator as soon as possible.

CS15-19 January 2018Non CS30 July-3 August 2018
Non CS19-23 February 2018CS30 July-3 August 2018
CS5-9 March 2018CS27 Aug-31 August 2018
CS9-13 April 2018CS1-5 October 2018
Non CS30 April-4 May 2018Non CS1-5 October 2018
CS7-11 May 2018CS12-16 November 2018
CS28 May-1 June 2018CS3-7 December 2018
Non CS25-29 June 2018Non CS17-24 December 2018
CS16 -20 July 2018

SCAs are eligible for 40 Category 1 Continuing Professional Development (CPD) points with the Royal Australian College of General Practitioners (RACGP) and 2 points per hour or a total of 30 Professional Development Points (PDP) with the Australian College of Rural and Remote Medicine (ACRRM).

SCAs are eligible under the Rural Procedural Grants Program. Please contact your relevant college for more information and eligibility.